“Parents Must Commit to Living as They Desire Their Children to Live”

It is without a doubt that a vital aspect of parenthood is being consistent. Consistent with your time. Consistent with your love. Consistent with consequences if authority is disrespected or if rules are broken.

In addition to these things, fathers and mothers must be consistent with living the kind of life they want their children to live as they mature into their own independent being. So, if you think it important for your child to abide your rules, then it is equally important that you show them how you abide by rules.

If there comes a time that you break a rule, be open with children about your failure to do what you were supposed to do.

For example, I was pulled over by a police officer for speeding. (It is kind of a bad habit of mine. I’m a bit heavy-footed so-to-speak.) I was stressed about it or yelling at the officer that I was in the right. I knew that I broke a rule and I wanted my son to see how I responded when I was told that I broke a rule.

There are times when we will break rules; but we must handle our consequences respectfully. The point is to try and grow from it.

But what some tend to forget is really working to live by the words that they pass on to their children. So, if one teaches their daughter that it is a terrible thing to lie and cheat, then you should also live by that kind of morality.

We all can imagine how many children become just as broken-hearted as their parent when it is revealed that the other parent has not been faithful. How then can the child take your word seriously? They know that you are a liar. In this kind of extreme scenario, it shows that it is bad policy to just expect your children to do as you say and not as you do when it comes to everything.

I’ve even seen parents who are smokers try to warn their children of the harmful effects of smoking. While still smoking themselves. It is like, “Why even tell them that?” They are going to follow your actions more than your word.

Remember: “Do as I say and not as I do” will, ultimately, fail as your child begins to make their own life decisions.

Check out my latest YouTube video – ‘Actions Must Match Words’: https://youtu.be/ZbXwoL7a7r4

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/CFSltjHhKCA/?igshid=ibro2hdinoao

If you like the video, then check out the rest of the channel. Leave comments, like, subscribe, and please share with other parents, young and old.

Published by Jerome Danner

I am a part-time blogger and writer. I have been an educator in the past and worked for a college. I dream a lot about being a lyricist and a full-time writer. When I am not writing, then I am usually chasing after a soon-to-be 4-year-old and a 2-year-old. Please feel free to send me your questions, thoughts, and/or comments at: jadanner1@yahoo.com!

Leave a comment